Cedar plank Salmon with a Maple spicy brown mustard sauce


Do you remember the salmon blog I wrote a couple of days ago?  The day I was eating my lean ground beef patties and reminiscing about the yummy salmon I’d had the week before….ah yeah…that little blog post.  I talked about how we had grilled it on a cedar plank with a special sauce. Well, I found the recipe!!  It was in my Ninja blender little book of recipes.  We have a green egg and I had wanted to use the Dijon mustard recipe in the Big green egg cook book for the salmon, but it also called for balsamic vinegar….well, I was out of Dijon mustard AND balsamic vinegar.  Go figure.  That always happens, doesn’t it?  However, I found this neat little recipe in my Ninja book for a sauce good with salmon, it didn’t call for balsamic vinegar….it did call for Dijon mustard tho.   I looked in my fridge and low and behold, guess what I found!  Spicy brown mustard!  So, what do you when you really want to try something and you almost have everything you need….you IMPROVISE!  So I used spicy brown mustard in place of the Dijon, and y’all, I think I’ll do it every time now!  Here is the recipe from the Ninja blender little recipe book:

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

2 tbsp Dijon mustard (I swapped to spicy brown mustard instead)

1 tbsp pure maple syrup (I used 1-1/2 tbsp organic pure maple syrup)

1 tbsp fresh chopped parsley (I used 1 tbsp dried parsley I had on hand)

1 clove garlic (I used 1 tsp minced garlic)

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

Pulse all ingredients in your blender or stir well together in a mixing bowl.  Reserve about 1 tbsp of the mustard sauce for after you take the salmon off the grill.  Brush the remaining sauce over the salmon, place on cedar plank and grill that scrumptious baby!  When done, let rest for 5 minutes and brush with the remaining mustard sauce and lick your lips when you’re done cuz it’s good! 

To see the original recipes from the Ninja blender book click here.

To see the Big Green Egg’s recipe, click here.

Now, the picture below came from the Big Green Egg cook book.  I took a pic of our salmon but it’s on my Instagram and I’ll have to figure out how to get it here.  So photo cred go to the Big Green Egg people, I don’t think they’ll mind.  If you want to follow me on Instagram where you’ll find other interesting food ideas and funny fitness stuff, find me at tblount04. 

HAPPY EATING Y’ALL! 

 

4 thoughts on “Cedar plank Salmon with a Maple spicy brown mustard sauce

Leave a Reply

