Spinach and Cheese Quinoa Casserole


20121121-130159.jpg

Are you looking for something a little different to make? Or do you still have that bag of quinoa in the cabinet you need to use up? I had about 1/2 or a little more left in a bag myself and found a recipe on Pinterest I decided to use it for. It was spinach and cheese quinoa casserole. Isn’t Pinterest just fabulous? Yeah, I love it, too! Now, I didn’t go exactly by her recipe. I’ll paste the link to her site but also tell you how I made my version. Here is the link to the Pinterest recipe I found. I will tell you up front that her recipe calls for dry mustard which I did not use. Also, I made this and put in the fridge for Thanksgiving but baked a small batch to test it out today. Brought some to work and tried it on a coworker and it passed! Here we go:

Fresh spinach, 2 cups or 10 0z pkg frozen spinach thawed and drained
2 tsp minced garlic
2 tbsp olive oil
2 roasted bell peppers, I used a jar of whole roasted red peppers, took out two and chopped them up
3 cups chicken broth
1-1/2 cups Quinoa
2 cups grated cheddar cheese
2 cups grated mozzarella cheese
3/4 cup bread crumbs
2 tbsp butter, melted
1/2 cup grated mozzarella (to use with bread crumbs

I poured olive oil in a sauté pan on medium heat. Add the minced garlic and eat cook for about two minutes, then add spinach. I used fresh spinach so I let mine cook until wilted. Then add the chopped red peppers and stir. Then, to a large pot, I added the spinach and garlic mix along with the chicken broth. Then add the quinoa and stir. Let this come to a boil, then ten on medium low heat and let simmer for 20 minutes or until all the water is absorbed. Remove from heat, add the cheeses and mix. Pour into a casserole dish. Now, it’s going to seem runny, but don’t worry, as it sits and cooks it will become more firm. Mix the melted butter, bread crumbs and cheese together and sprinkle on top. Place dish in preheated 375 degree oven for about 20 minutes or until topping starts to brown. Take out and serve!! I think you could serve this as a side dish or eat for a small lunch. Quinoa is packed with fiber and protein, so why not? Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Spinach and Cheese Quinoa Casserole

  1. Pingback: I’ve been having this love affair with…….quinoa! « thewhitedish

Leave a Reply

